Grass is always greener if you don’t have to mow it.

I recently moved into my very first house! Yay right!? Not so much. It’s a 2 bedroom 1 bath bungalow style home and I was so happy because after years of waiting I finally have my own back yard. Keyword: WAS. The word “house” is a big step for me because I’ve lived in a Camden apartment my whole life; well ok, not exactly my whole life… but since I was 19 years old!! I’m telling you all of this mumbo-jumbo for a very good reason because here’s the thing:  I’ve never actually had to mow the grass. Camden provided me with the luxury of living the good life and I never even had to think about grass.  I understand that mowing isn’t rocket science and a seemingly simple task. The problem is just that it’s so hot and sticky and ewwwww bugs on my feet! As a matter of fact, I’m pretty sure all of my new neighbors hate me because my yard looks very depressing and condemned. I’ve sadly been avoiding the lawn like the plague.

My grass mowing skills can be defined in 4 simple steps:

  1. I walk through the house very slowly towards the back door cringing at the thought of actually turning on my lawn mower in the burning heat.
  2. Stare at the lawnmower for about 3 minutes followed by a gaze at the grass with a sour and disappointed look on my face.
  3. Say out loud “ugh, this can totally wait”.
  4. I walk back inside the house.

I have tried to be one of those people who enjoy yard work but it’s just not going to be part of my DNA until I get old and have nothing else to do with my time. I’m not telling you this to complain about how ridiculous I am but simply to highlight the truth of how amazing apartment living can be. I always hear people complain that renting is like throwing money away but nothing could be further from the truth. Renting allows freedom  from yard work, pest control, maintenance and a million other fun-sucking time consuming tasks! Apartment living offers freedom to live life with less responsibility and you can’t put a price on that. Camden offers the good life and if I could go back to living in my beautiful luxury apartment at Camden Travis Street I would do it in a heartbeat. The idea of a backyard seems great but take this advice from someone who had to learn the hard way, it’s annoying and not worth the hassle.

The grass is not always greener on the other side.

5 thoughts

  1. Couldn’t agree more. I recently moved from my 3 bedroom, 3 story, fully landscaped house into a Camden apartment for that exact reason. The time to manage a house & yard trully takes away from your freedom and finances to enjoy other fun free spirited activities. Amanda, you should rent the house and come on back to Camden!!!

Leave a Reply

