Do Not Miss the San Diego Fair

SDFair.com

SDFair.com

I have lived in San Diego for about 12 years now and one of my very first San Diego rituals was going to the San Diego Fair (was called the Del Mar Fair ‘back in my day’) every year.  Ideally we would split it up: a day to try all the crazy fair food, a day for rides, and a day to take in all the exhibits and possibly a concert.  Every year when I drive by and see the fair getting set up, it brings back many happy memories and nostalgia.

Every year the San Diego Fair has a theme.  One year is had something to do with sea life and I got to see Wyland in person painting a whale mural for the fair, pretty amazing!  This year the theme is “Fab Fair”.  Think The Beatles and everything fab that goes along with it.

Now, the rides are great because I actually validly fear for my life on each one but my favorite has got to be the food.  There is nothing I won’t try at the fair and I’ve done it all: fried Twinkies, fried Snickers, massive maple bacon donuts, fried butter, chocolate covered bacon, cheesecake on a stick, Aussie fried potatoes, Krispy Kreme fried chicken sandwich…and I’m sure there’s some I’m missing.  This year, new to the fair is a chocolate peanut butter bacon banana, chile relleno pretzel burger, grilled cream cheese hot dog, Frito dog, and deep fried chicken skins.  I cannot promise I will try any of those when I go next Tuesday, but the gourmet grilled cheese stand definitely catches my eye.

 

Krispy Kreme Burger?! Photo from sdfair.com

Krispy Kreme Burger?! Photo from sdfair.com

I encourage everyone in driving distance to take the time to visit the San Diego Fair which runs until July 6, 2014.  I have so many fond memories of the San Diego Fair, and whatever your interest is (rides, shopping, art shows, livestock shows, music concerts, or food!) you will be sure to fine something you love there.

Leave a Reply

