DFW’s Empty the Shelter Day (aka Bring Home Your New Best Friend Day)!

Photo: emptytheshelter.org

Photo: emptytheshelter.org

You only have to talk to me for about 5 minutes before you will find out that I am passionately in love with all three of my children – my two beautiful daughters and my adorable fur “son”, Dingo.

How on earth can you not fall in love with those ears!!

How on earth can you not fall in love with those ears!!

I didn’t have dogs growing up, so I had no clue how much a puppy would change my life. It took about 3 seconds for our sweet little guy to worm his way into my heart. My girls begged for a dog, swearing up and down that at ages 8 and 10 they were more than prepared for the responsibilities of a pet. My husband and I held firm insisting that our family was too busy to make time for a puppy. However, in a moment of weakness I found myself browsing Petfinder.com and becoming absorbed in all of the cute pictures of shelter puppies. Before I knew it I was visiting a local high-kill shelter and pleading with my hubby to rescue the adorable Australian Kelpie puppy with the HUGE ears. He was bigger than I expected and I had not anticipated adopting a high-energy herding dog, but I knew he needed to come home with us. I could not leave him there to die! We saved his life and it was one of the best decisions we have ever made. Not a day goes by that I am not proud to say that we rescued our 5th family member.

Dingo loves a snowy day!

Dingo loves a snowy day!

Summer is an overwhelming time for animal shelters. The puppy and kitten population explodes after the spring breeding season. In addition, believe it or not, many pets are dropped off or left behind when families decide to go on vacation or move. There is simply not enough space for all of the animals and shelters are forced to euthanize cats and dogs at an alarming rate. In order to save as many animals as possible, NBC 5, Telemundo and the ASPCA have partnered together to sponsor DFW’s Empty the Shelter Day. Almost 40 shelters in the Dallas-Ft. Worth area have agreed to waive adoption fees on Saturday, August 16. More shelters are signing on as the event nears so check out Emptytheshelter.org to find one close to your Camden community. Its first come first served, so if you fall in love with someone on Petfinder.com that you just HAVE to adopt, make sure you get there as soon as the shelter opens.

Now is your chance to be a HERO to a cat or dog sitting in an area shelter! If you have been thinking about adopting a new best friend, this is your perfect opportunity. Camden loves our furry residents and we want to celebrate your new arrival with you. If you have any questions about you community’s pet policies, we are here to help. You can even call our offices after hours and speak to a Camden Call Center employee for information. Once your new friend is on the way home, please stop by the Community Office for a Meet and Treat!

Smiles all around for your new cat or dog!

Smiles all around for your new cat or dog!

Let’s help save some lives and empty those shelters!

Leave a Reply

