Answer the Door – Fall is Knocking

I was in Pier 1 Imports the other day picking up my new dishes and what did I see? Fall decorations AND Halloween decorations…already. It felt like when Hallmark puts out Valentine’s Day cards in October and grocery stores put out Easter candy in February. I shook my head and giggled slightly. I may or may not have thrown in an unnoticeable eye roll. But then it hit me. It’s almost fall and technically Halloween, the way this year has flown by, will be here before any of us realize it. Then the excitement set in. I love fall. Like seriously love it.  If it was something I could marry, I would.  The last few mornings I was able to walk out on my patio and feel that slight chill in the air that makes me so content with life.

So what I am going to do is give you a little fall, a little early. That way you’re prepared and fall into the spirit (get it?!).

Fall Decor Idea

Chevron Painted Pumpkins Photo Credit : www.interiorsbystudiom.com

Chevron Painted Pumpkins
Photo Credit : http://www.interiorsbystudiom.com

Now either we are ourselves or have that one Aunt who changes out the decor for every season and every single holiday. Whether you do or not, you can certainly appreciate adding just a touch of the season to your home. It can be the tiniest shift in your decor to a wall-to-wall makeover. Hey, who are we to judge? Southern Living has awesome ideas from tablescapes to small touches of things you can do to incorporate fall themes into your home. Stay classy, Southern Living. I personally am obsessed with painted pumpkins like the ones above. They make me feel fancy.

Fall Drink Recipe

Maple Mocha Latte  Photo Credit : www.rnforwellness.com

Maple Mocha Latte
Photo Credit : http://www.rnforwellness.com

I have what some might call a slight obsession with coffee. So much so that when I wake up in the morning, after kissing on my daughter’s sweet cheeks, I honestly can’t stop thinking about coffee. I’m like that dog in the Beggin’ Strips commercial where he’s repeatedly screaming BACON and sniffing all around – except I’m screaming COFFEE. It’s such a relaxing drink to me. It means conversations with friends, curling up in an over-sized chair with a good book and scarf weather .  See that yummy drink in the photo? That is a Maple Mocha Latte. Can I get a, “yum”?! Get the recipe here. If you want something a little more, eh hem, grown up, here are some great cocktail ideas for fall.

Fall Food Recipe

Squash Gratin Photo Credit : www.foodnetwork.com

Squash Gratin
Photo Credit : http://www.foodnetwork.com

Gasp! I didn’t post a pumpkin pie. The truth is, in the fall, everything is pumpkin this and pumpkin that. Not that I am opposed to pumpkin anything but because everything is pumpkin-laden, I am going to throw a curve ball and share a recipe with a sometimes “picked last for the team” ingredient. Squash. I’d put squash (along with mushrooms) in every meal if I could. Holy cow, do I love squash. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it. But squash and cheese. I die. This recipe is a Food Network recipe for a squash gratin. Not to mention, Food Network has a plethora of recipes for fall. Grab them here in one spot.

Fall Nail Polish Color

Essie - Bordeaux Photo Credit : www.elle.com

Essie – Bordeaux
Photo Credit : http://www.elle.com

I couldn’t help myself with this one. I don’t wear nail polish all the time but when I do, I wear deep reds. They are my favorite and the fall is the perfect time to whip out your richer, deeper colors.  I also love Essie and all of their shades of red. The above, their Bordeaux color, looks amazing on all skin tones. That bodes extremely well for me because I’m Irish to a fault. Elle has a seriously rockin’ list of great fall colors for nails, my Essie one included. See which one is your fav.

Fall Apparel Must Have

Infinity Scarf Photo Credit : www.jenniefresa.com

Infinity Scarf
Photo Credit : http://www.jenniefresa.com

An infinity scarf. A guy or a girl can rock one of these. And while I realize this is not a ground-breaking, ahead-of-its time trend, it’s tried and true one. Plus they look bomb and you can wear them with anything. Love times ten. And then some.

Fall Party Theme

Fall Party Ideas Photo Credit : www.babble.com

Fall Party Ideas
Photo Credit : http://www.babble.com

Fall is such a great time to throw parties. Between the weather just being perfect for outdoor gatherings, you’ve got tons of reasons you can throw a party. Football. Birthdays. Thanksgiving. Halloween. Because it’s Wednesday. I could go on and on. You literally could throw a party a day and not run out of the cool things you can do to incorporate fall. Here is a great place (because I couldn’t pick just one for you) to visit and get to planning.

Fall Vacation

Asheville, NC

Asheville, NC Photo Credit : http://www.reserveatlakekeowee.com

One word. Asheville. I can’t say enough about Asheville. Yes, I may be biased because I’m a born and raised North Carolina girl but there is nothing quite like the fall in the Appalachian Mountains of NC. The leaves changing color, the grandness of the Biltmore Estate, the fact that the Blue Ridge Parkway looks like something out of a story book, the little shops and restaurants that are to die for. Then there is the matter of your accommodations. There is The Grove Park Inn, many sweet B&B’s and even cabins you can rent. You can’t go wrong. Explore Asheville here.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Oh and FYI. If fall is here, guess what is baaaaaaaaaaaack…

The #PSL

Thank you, Starbucks. The world is as it should be once again.

Leave a Reply

