More Than Just The Mouse: Lake Lotus Nature Park

More Than Just The Mouse: Lake Lotus Nature Park

When you think of Orlando, most people think of Disney World or any of the other countless tourist draws to the city. As a new resident to Orlando, I want to explore the city away from The Mouse.

Just north of Orlando in Altamonte Springs, there is a beautiful park called Lake Lotus Nature Park that is something worth seeing. I took the drive up I-4 and got off at Maintland Blvd. where I was surrounded by office buildings, restaurants, and hotels. It was a great suburban neighborhood with all the conveniences you would want. I actually drove by one of our properties Camden Renaissance which borders Lake Lotus Park; it must be great to have this natural beauty as your neighbor! I parked and walked over and as soon as I stepped foot inside Lake Lotus Park I felt like a stepped into a completely different world. I was surrounded by the beautiful bright greens of the different tree leaves with rays of sun streaming through the tops which made me feel like I was in a jungle and no longer in Orlando. It was great!

Lake Lotus Park (Photo Courtesy of Morgan W and Dreamfinder Photography)

Lake Lotus Park (Photo Courtesy of Morgan W and Dreamfinder Photography)

 

I wandered around the trail and it was fun to get a little lost and try to find my way as I looked at everything that surrounded me. There was just so much to look at. I had my camera with me and this is definitely a place where the camera speaks 1,000 words! The trees, flowers, birds, and even insects seemed to be everywhere I looked! But in Florida there’s something else to add to that list…… gators! Yes ladies and gentlemen, there are gators there and I stumbled on a baby gator in the water as I reached a part of the trail that became a wooded boardwalk around the lake. I wasn’t used to having to worry about gators around me since I’m not from Florida so that was a new experience for me.

Hi Baby Gator! (Photo Courtesy of Morgan W & Dreamfinder Photography)

Hi Baby Gator! (Photo Courtesy of Morgan W & Dreamfinder Photography)

I walked the whole trail of Lake Lotus Nature Park which is about 1.7 miles long and includes the wooded boardwalk around the lake and a great little pavilion called the Windows to the Lake which displays the different flora and fauna that you might see while explore the park. It was great to check out the pavilion and figure out the names of the plants and animals that I was seeing because everything was foreign to me since I didn’t grow up with gators in my local nature parks or even egrets (which I saw too!). It was perfect way to escape for a couple of hours and wander around with nature. If you haven’t been yet then you are missing out! Go check out their website at Altamonte Springs online to get more information and even reserve a picnic pavilion to have a great outing with friends or family! If all the parks in Orlando are as beautiful as this one and as fun, I can’t wait to check out more!

(Photo Courtesy of Morgan W and Dreamfinder Photography)

(Photo Courtesy of Morgan W and Dreamfinder Photography)

Stay tuned for more “More Than Just The Mouse” and check out my last article about the Dr. Phillips Center!

Leave a Reply

