Top five brunch places in San Diego

 

One of my favorite things about living in San Diego is the food culture.  Whenever I have company in town or I just want a relaxing way to spend my day off I always look for a great place to brunch. What I look for in a great spot is a cozy ambiance, great food, and friendly service. Here are a few of my favorites.

1. The Cottage

My co worker and friend at Camden Old Creek recommended the Cottage to me when I first moved here.  It is located in the center of La Jolla but is tucked away off the beaten path on a tree line side street away from the hustle bustle. I ordered the Eggs La Jolla which was perfect. After brunch you can walk down to my favorite beach, Windansea or take a scenic stroll to the cove to watch the sea lions and seals.

Photo courtesy of yelp

Photo courtesy of yelp


2. The Patio on Lamont in Pacific Beach

I love the patio because they are pet friendly so you can bring your furry friends with you. They also have happy hour all day on Mondays. You can’t beat that!  I ordered the corn flake french toast which was to die for.

Photo courtesy of yelp

Photo courtesy of yelp


3. Breakfast Republic in North Park

North Park is one of my favorite areas in San Diego and is known for great eateries. They have an amazing Bloody Mary with candied bacon as a garnish. I also loved the lemon coconut french toast.  Get there early especially on Sundays because it can get busy.

Photo courtesy of yelp

Photo courtesy of yelp


4. S & M (Sausage and Meat) in North Park 

If you like meat this is the place for you. They have great homemade sausage, thick bacon, breakfast cal zones and much more! It also has a “swine bar”.

Photo courtesy of yelp

Photo courtesy of yelp


5. Leilani’s in Pacific Beach 

This Hawaiian themed restaurant reminds me of home. I grew up in Hawaii and they have a Hilo Style loco moco that is delicious.  It has fried rice, hamburger, a gooey egg, and gravy.

Photo courtesy of yelp

Photo courtesy of yelp


The next time you are stumped on places to go for brunch check out these great places! For more ideas check out things to do in San Diego.

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

