Have you had a physical lately?

I am on a healthy kick! Can you tell from my last post, My Bikini Body Mommy Experience? My body has been shrinking and getting toned! While I have been working really hard to improve my outer appearance, I haven’t been focusing on my insides.

When was the last time you visited your doctor to get a physical? Recently, Camden ran a contest for all employees: If the employee completed a physical at the doctor and a health survey, they were eligible for $25 off their insurance premium and entered to win 6 months of insurance for free! I have not had a physical for over three years and this contest made me call my doctor as soon as possible, because who doesn’t love the idea of free money?

If he was my doctor...I would be there every day! Photo courtesy of Healthline.com

If he was my doctor…I would be there every day! Photo courtesy of Healthline.com

I scheduled my appointment and I was off to the doctor! I had blood drawn and answered every question imaginable about my body and how I was feeling or if anything hurt. I thought I rocked that physical, but little did I know there was something very serious hiding behind the scenes.

The next day I received a call from my doctor and he said he needed me to come in right away. He told me that my blood work came back with some unusual White Blood Count results and stated that I could possibly have leukemia. To be frank – I freaked out!!!  Me? Cancer? I am only 30, I have a young baby, a husband and two dogs that need me!

Ready to rock this Bone Marrow Biopsy!

Ready to rock this Bone Marrow Biopsy!

Three days later I sat in a hematologist’s office and he ordered more bloodwork and a Bone Marrow Biopsy. Once all the results came back, I was diagnosed with Chronic Myeloid Leukemia (CML). Over 15 years ago my prognosis would have been 50% for living past 3 years. Now, thanks to many years of research, I have a miracle drug that I just need to take a twice a day for the rest of my life.

There are many negatives and side effects that surround this disease, but I am not going into the “Debbie Downer” zone. You can read about CML on the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society website, which is a great resource for many blood cancers. I just know and have been told that I should survive long into old age!

Photo courtesy of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society

Photo courtesy of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society

I hope by reading my story that you considered visiting your doctor for a physical and getting checked out today! A physical could help uncover hidden problems that you would never know about. Catching these issues early can help prolong and improve your quality of life.

Check to see if your company has any health incentives or insurance deals for getting a physical.  I am so fortunate that Camden values all of their employees’ health and well-being. It is just another reason why Camden is a Great Place to Work!

Leave a Reply

