10+ Spring Hacks for Organization on a Budget

This new Californian transplant finds that even though I have an amazing apartment at Camden Crown Valley, having a roommate does tend to limit the amount of storage space. I always seem to gravitate towards all the amazing organization life hacks out there, and there is many to be found! If you are like me, you want as much space as possible.

With Spring upon us, I’ve decided to look into not only some organization life hacks but some Spring Cleaning hacks as well. While most of the lists out there on the web give you a DI Y idea or instructions, I decided to take it a step farther and provide you with some cost saving products.  Whether you have a 1, 2 or 3 bedroom at a Camden Community and depending on the size of your family, organizing your space is a never-ending concern.

Here’s my pick of the Top 10+ Spring Cleaning and Organizing Life Hacks
to start your spring season with style!

 1. Make your fridge more accessible

Lazy Susan

Copco 2555-0191 Non-Skid Cabinet Turntable, 9-Inch $4.99

Try purchasing a Lazy Susan to each level to help you avoid spills, and make it easier to get to things you need in a jiffy! I found this 9-Inch Non Skid cabinet turntable for only $4.99 on Amazon. They have some larger sizes for those bigger items.



2. Save money on electrostatic cloths

Snuggle

I found this cheap box of 230 count Snuggle dryer sheets on Amazon.com for only $7.21

I don’t know if you’ve priced the Swiffer Sweeping cloths but they aren’t friendly on the wallet. A 16 count of Swiffer cloths on Amazon.com is a whopping $24 bucks! Try dusting with dryer sheets, they are cheaper and work just as well!

 


3. Clean as you go shower 

Clean as you go

I found this Quickie Reach N Scrub Dish wand on Amazon.com for only $2.04  – Free shipping for Prime members like me when buying this as an “Add on item”.

I can’t wait to do this one. I love things clean, especially my shower. Keep a  dish washing wand in the shower and fill it with ½ vinegar and ½ dish washing detergent. It will be super easy to wipe down the walls before exiting the shower.


4. Shoe organizer will save your life

Shoe organizer

Whitmor 6044-13-CTF White Over the door shoe organizer, clear $8.73

I can think of about 20 things in my home that I can organize right now with a hanging shoe organizer. Spices in my pantry, cleaning supplies for my laundry room, bathroom toiletries, and the possibilities are literally endless. I found this one on Amazon.com, Not only is it cheap but its clear! It also happens to be a PRIME purchase which will save you on shipping. CHA – CHING!

 

 

 

 

5. Where art thou Bobbie Pins?

Bobbie Pins

Winco PMB13 Magnetic Bar with plastic base 13-inch $7.02

I cannot tell you how many packages of bobby pins I go through in a year’s time or how often I misplace my tweezers, nail clippers, mini scissors etc. Well not anymore! Thank you magnetic strip to organize my beauty supplies. I found this one cheap on… yes… Amazon.com for only $7.02. It is also a prime purchase – ZERO in shipping! However I’m sure you could also get some flexible magnetic strip at Hobby Lobby or Michael’s.

 

 

6. Spring means putting the winter boots in hibernation

Pool NoodlesI know I’ve said this before but this idea is genius! I can tell you limp boots in my closet makes me go insane. No longer, thank you pool noodle. All you need is a 99 cent pool noodle and some scissors. You’re welcome! For you crafty creative chic gals out there don’t let your style take a back seat to this little number, spice it up by decorating your noodles to add some flair to your closet!
7. The previous hack got me thinking about my depressing closet… VOILA!

Tank tops

Utopia double glide roller shower curtain rings, set of 12 Chrome $7.74

We’ve all seen the clever use of coke tabs to hang on our hangers to create the addition of a magical second hanger. But the biggest quantity of items that I own is TANK TOPS!  What a genius way to get rid of my never ending tank top drawer. The use of shower rings and a hanger combine into the most wonderful space saving idea. Yes, you could probably get a cheap set at the 99 cent store like in the picture, but I like a little style personally. I found this relatively cheap but stylish shower curtain ring set on Amazon.com and you guessed it, it is a prime purchase!

 

 

 

 

8. Carpets smell oh so nice

carpets

Image courtesy of grannymiller.com

I personally use essential oils for everything. I typically use a tea light to enhance the smell but what about my carpet? I have a smelly dog and cat that can make visitors leery but now I have found another use for my essential oils. Make your own carpet deodorizer by adding 10-20 drops of any essential oil with about a 16-oz box of baking soda.
Mix it up so the oils are totally absorbed and be sure to store in a glass container.
To use: Shake some of the DIY baking soda on your carpet, wait 5 minutes and voila!

 

 

 

9. Stove top miracle

Turtle wax

Turtle Wax T-241A Polishing Compound & Scratch Remover – 10.5 oz. $5.49

Cleaning your stove top will be a breeze with just a little bit of car wax. All you do is apply a thin layer of the car wax, and then wipe it off. Not only is it great for removing some stains it also serves as preventative maintenance by future spills easily removed. I found this perfect Turtle Wax that will do the job perfect on Amazon.com for only $5.49. It happens to be a prime purchase – which means yet again FREE SHIPPING! One of the bullet points of this fabulous product reads “Quickly and easily penetrates through the surface to remove scratches, blemishes and stubborn stains. Restores faded finishes”.

 

10. Homemade Oven cleaner for Dummies

Stove top miracleThere really isn’t anyway real way to mess this little concoction up. You simply combine 5 tablespoons baking soda, 4 tablespoons white vinegar and 5 drops of Dawn dish-washing liquid in a bowl. Mix these ingredients which will turn into a paste, which you simply spread all over the inside of your oven with a sponge. Wait about 15 minutes and you will be able to easily remove that entire greasy gunk away!

Tension rods 111. Shower tension rods to organize your cleaning supplies

As I’m thinking about this wonderful little organization method, all these thoughts are rushing to my head on various ways you could use these! You could use several of these in a nook to create an area to hang your shoes! You could use these to store your wrapping paper, you could get smaller ones for your cabinets, freezer, use them for spices, to separate cutting boards….I could write a blog simply of all the ways to use tension rods! I found some on Amazon.com.

Zenna Home Tension Shower Curtain Rods on Amazon.com for only $6.49.  

It’s Prime so no shipping!!

 

 

 

I’m so happy that I am able to share these spring organization ideas with you. There are so many wonderful life hacks out there, I hope that actually seeing the costs of some of these ideas has given you that extra push to make it happen.

Read more related tips from my fellow #SimplyCamden bloggers!

5 DIY Projects to Enhance Your Home

Spring; A Time To Beautify Your Patio

7 Shocking Ways To Use An Over The Door Shoe Organizer

Leave a Reply

