5 Books You Should Read If You Liked Gone Girl

Were you left wanting more once you finished Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn? Yeah, me too. There’s nothing I enjoy more than cozying up to my warm fireplace at Camden Fairfax Corner and reading a suspense novel!

To satisfy my need for more Gone Girl, I started with the rest of Gillian Flynn’s books and then went from there. Here is a list of 5 books that I found and thoroughly enjoyed:

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

The nightmares were worth it. I have never been able to enjoy scary movies, but this book helped me realize that I do enjoy scary books! Similar to Gone Girl there were many twists and turns that kept me flipping the pages until the very end.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Hauntingly sad.  I think many of us can relate to having mixed feelings of visiting our hometowns, but this takes it to a new level. The ending reminded me of The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins in that living through something doesn’t necessarily mean you’ve survived it.

The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison

Once I finished all Gillian Flynn’s books I found myself searching online and asking friends for recommendations. The Silent Wife was a quick and satisfying read. Similar to Gone Girl, the story is told in alternating voices between a husband and wife in a troubled marriage.

I Love You More by Jennifer Murphy

“One man, three wives, the perfect murder. A scintillating novel of betrayal and conspiracy.” Talk about girl power.  Not as suspenseful as the others, but just as entertaining to learn all the details of what actually happened.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

This was my favorite. . You know that something is going on, but you aren’t quite sure what it is. I battled between wanting to know the truth, and feeling afraid to find out. Just read it. Now.

I’m always looking for recommendations on what to read next! Feel free to post your thoughts in the comments section below.

My favorite way to enjoy books is on my Ereader using my Overdrive Library App. Read these books and others like it with this app for free! All you need is a library card.

cheryl eimerCheryl Eimer is the Regional Marketing Director for Camden’s Charlotte, Raleigh and DC Metro markets. She and her cat Petey have lived all over the U.S. and are excited to be back on the East Coast. In addition to perfecting her beauty regimen, Cheryl hopes to travel to Switzerland, a trip she plans to take next year!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s